Government Loans

Business Physical Disaster Loans

Government Loans > Business Physical Disaster Loans


Program Description:

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is responsible for providing affordable, timely and accessible financial assistance to private, non-profit organizations and businesses of all sizes located in a declared disaster area. Financial assistance is available in the form of low-interest, long-term loans for losses that are not fully covered by insurance or other recoveries.

SBA's disaster loans are the primary form of Federal assistance for the repair and rebuilding of non-farm, private sector disaster losses. The disaster loan program is the only form of SBA assistance not limited to small businesses.

Businesses and private non-profit organizations of any size may borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace disaster damaged or destroyed real estate, machinery and equipment, inventory, and other business assets . In some cases, SBA may be able to refinance all or part of a previous mortgage or lien. Loans may also be increased up to 20 percent of the total amount of disaster damage to real estate and/or leasehold improvements, as verified by SBA, to make improvements that lessen the risk of property damage by possible future disasters of the same kind.

For small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private non-profit organizations of all sizes, the SBA offers Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL) up to $2 million to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster. EIDL assistance is available regardless of whether the business suffered any physical property damage.

The statutory limit for business loans is $2 million and applies to the combination of physical, economic injury, mitigation and refinancing, and applies to all disaster loans to a business and its affiliates for each disaster.


General Program Requirements:

In order to qualify for this benefit program, your business or private non-profit organization must have sustained physical damage and be located in a disaster declared county:





Loan Terms:

Disaster survivors must repay SBA disaster loans. SBA can only approve loans to applicants with a reasonable ability to repay the loan and other obligations from earnings. The terms of each loan are established in accordance with each borrower's ability to repay. The law gives SBA several powerful tools to make EIDLs affordable: low fixed interest rates and long-terms (up to 30 years). As required by law, eligibility is based on SBA's determination of whether each applicant does or does not have the ability to borrow or use their own resources to overcome the disaster.

The SBA can provide up to $2 million in disaster assistance to a business. The $2 million loan cap includes both physical disaster loans and EIDLs. There are no upfront fees or early payment penalties charged by SBA.


Application Process:

Apply online for disaster loan assistance at your own convenience through SBA's secure Website at:

You may also may completed applications to:

Mail completed applications to:
Processing and Disbursement Center
14925 Kingsport Road
Fort Worth, Texas 76155

Disaster victims can also apply in person at any FEMA-State Disaster Recovery Center, SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center or SBA Business Recovery Center and receive personal, one-on-one help from an SBA representative. To find a location near you or help applying by mail, please contact our Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 or by e-mail at

Homeowners and renters applying for assistance in a Presidential disaster declaration must first register with FEMA either online at or by phone at 1-800-621-3362.


Program Contact Information:

For more information about the disaster loan program or questions on how to apply, please call 1-800-659-2955, email or visit:


Managing Agency:

U.S. Small Business Administration


  » Home

  » Govt Loans

  » Loan Categories

  » Managing Agency

  » Loan Tips

  » Contact Us